Utah AD replaces USC AD on CFB committee


College Football Playoff selection committee member Jennifer Cohen is expected to step down from her role with the group because of obligations in her new job as USC’s athletic director, according to sources.

Cohen, who was previously Washington’s athletic director, was entering her first season with the group tasked with determining the top four teams in the field. The CFP is expected to name a replacement for her so there will still be 13 committee members this fall. Cohen was announced as USC’s new athletic director in late August.

Typically, committee members serve three-year terms, and each Power 5 conference has a sitting athletic director on the committee. Cohen had been the Pac-12’s representative, along with the ACC’s Boo Corrigan (NC State), the Big Ten’s Warde Manuel (Michigan), the SEC’s Mitch Barnhart (Kentucky), and the Big 12’s Gene Taylor (Kansas State). Navy athletic director Chet Gladchuk is entering his second year with the group.

Without Cohen, there would be six sitting athletic directors on the committee. Cohen was one of three new committee members this fall, along with former Nevada Hall of Fame coach Chris Ault, and Miami (Ohio) athletic director David Sayler.

It’s not the first time the CFP has had a committee member step down for various reasons. Past members with tenures that were cut short include former Michigan coach Lloyd Carr, general Ray Odierno, Archie Manning, Oliver Luck, Ohio State athletic director Gene Smith, former coach R.C. Slocum and former USC athletic director Pat Haden.

Cohen was not immediately available for comment.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Joe Root Denied ICC World Cup 2023 Prep As Rain Washes Out Ireland ODI
Mizzou upsets No. 15 KSU on 61-yard walk-off FG
European Road Cycling Championships: Josh Tarling wins time trial, with Anna Henderson claiming silver
Video Claims Rohit Sharma Forgot Passport On Way To Airport After Asia Cup Final, Reminds Fans Of Virat Kohli’s Old Quote
Hamlin wins Bristol playoff race; Logano ousted

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *